Either your browser's javascript has been disabled or it needs an update! Please re-enable your javascript program or update your browser to view this page as designed.
Nolan's Pop Culture Review 2008!
   Assistant Editor / Co-Moderator:  Terence Nuzum.                                                   HOME      ARCHIVES
Established A.D. 2000, March 19. Now in our ninth calendar year!
Number 456  (Vol. 9, No. 51). This edition is for the week of December 15--21, 2008.

THE TAMPA FILM REVIEW FOR DECEMBER
by Nolan Canova
"Yes Man"
Christmas Matinees - Forgotten Holiday Turkeys!
R.I.P. Bettie "Queen of Curves" Page, 1923-2008
March of the Wooden Soldiers
Whatever Happened To Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer?
Last Week .... So What He Really Wants To Do Is Direct? .... Movie Notes .... Music Notes .... Passing On .... The Year That Was: Part One .... .... .... And The Oscar Should Have Gone To... a
SEASON'S GREETINGS!
From all of us here at CrazedFanboy.com

The Final Tampa Film Review
Tampa Indie Film: Mission Accomplished? Part 2
The Year's Last Lettercol
The Year That Was, Part 1
Readers Comments

The Final Tampa Film Review
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, DECEMBER 17, 2008.

It is with a touch of sad irony that the week after I lauded the venerable Tampa Film Review monthly film fest as the best of its kind, I am forced to report that its end is imminent.

The first thing announced by TFR chieftan Paul Guzzo at last Friday's event is that it is the last one. Not just for 2008, but for forever. Well, with the exception of next month's 5-year anniversary bash, but that will be a retrospective/best-of where the top films from the past five years will be shown. Quite an event in and of itself, of course, and yours truly intends to be there. But the final show with all original films was last Friday.

There is talk of others who may be interested in taking over the TFR in 2009, but as of this writing, nothing concrete. I'd love to see the TFR survive in some form or another, even if where the new "owner" takes it makes it impractical or impossible for me to attend personally anymore.

After the show we bid adieu to each other and the Romeo Coffeehouse, where it all began....and ended. To read my write-up of last Friday's films, more about the participants, and any last words, click here.


Tampa Indie Film: Mission Accomplished? Part 2
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, DECEMBER 17, 2008.

The Bad News, Addendum
I had not originally intended to make a "Part 2" to last week's piece on the Tampa Indie Film scene. However, one Readers' Comments poster ("Bad News Puff Chrissy") lamented the fact that of The Good News, The Great News, and The Bad News I posted, the "Bad" could've been more expanded upon. My response reflected on my reluctance of seeming to side, even for a moment, with our stalkers and naysayers, adding, "what Paul and I do [turned out] to be a relatively thankless job for a too-often ungrateful and self-centered film community, I said pretty much all I wanted to say anyway, and wanted to end on a positive note. There will always be problems and personality conflicts, but we try and keep the big picture front and center."

While I still stand by that, I thought a lot more about it over the past few days and decided to expand on that a little after all. The reason being -- and I don't mean to be speaking for Paul here -- is that some of the "bad" news is what contributed to the TFR's demise.

Letters to the Editor Before I elaborate, please understand two things clearly: First, my experiences at the Tampa Film Review and with the filmmakers involved have been overwhelmingly positive, it's why I keep covering it. Second, I am NOT going to allude to any "lack of professionalism" (as our most vocal critic was always fond of repeating ad nauseum). That is not the point. That was never the point. The TFR is a bare-bones exhibition for up-and-coming filmmakers, not a professional workshop, nor was it designed to be. (Dan Brienza's pre-TFR meet-up is closer to that, but that's another story.)

The first thing I want to get out of the way is that what negative I've observed has nothing to do with the valiant efforts of the Brothers Guzzo, technical snafus and shifting venues notwithstanding. Annoying when they occurred, yes, but a petty grievance that was made way too much of by critics. The Guzzos did the best they could with what they had to work with (practically nothing, I can relate), but the fans followed them wherever they went regardless.

Now to the meat of it. Bloated egos I'm used to. Comes with the territory. No, my complaint stems from working with filmmakers who seem clueless about how to interact with each other and with us. Not all of them, mind you, many of them are super-cool and truly get what we're trying to do (OK, I said I didn't mean to speak for Paul, and yet I'm all about "we" now -- but our experiences are so much the same I feel like I'm pretty much covering the same ground). So many of them indulge in what they think of as "self-promotion" without really knowing what that is, where to draw the line, or how to show courtesy.

One of the most frequent complaints about the TFR is that filmmakers rarely stay through an entire TFR event, arriving very late and leaving the very second their film has finished playing. Since TFR is only two hours long, I don't think it's asking too much to stay and watch other short films since everyone stayed through your film! Got a plane to catch in the morning? Is the extra 30 to 60 minutes really going to make that much of a difference? Those who do manage to stay until the end (assuming it was a real effort to be made to watch your competition), race out the door, defeating all possibilities of an interview or photo-op. To those who stayed and spoke with us afterward, I thank you.

Thankfully, the Guzzos always lend me their TFR discs so I can re-watch them later for accuracy, crew credits and such when writing my reviews, which I take pretty seriously. These discs are always returned at the next event. Most of the time this is hassle-free. But a few times the disc was literally taken out of my hands by a filmmaker who doesn't trust that we're not going to steal their ideas, or secretly put the movie out on YouTube or something. All I can say is we didn't build our reps by f*cking artists over the last five years! (Note: it's also been observed on more than one occasion that the excuse was "this is the only copy I have!" While that may be true rarely, we never believed that, worst comes to worst, another copy, presumably created from the same data files, couldn't be made again! I mean, what if they accidentally stepped on it or whatever?) Conversely, the past few months the filmmakers haven't even bothered to show up at all(!), merely mailing it in and expecting a report back on how it went. Well, at least there's no hassle over the discs. (It's worth noting that some filmmakers have driven all the way from Miami, Orlando and Jacksonville to attend the Tampa Film Review, when locals found it to be too much trouble.)

I don't know about Paul, but with me, e-mail correspondence is hit and/or miss. Once their promotional material is sent, apparently an ongoing dialogue is neither desired nor acknowledged. Forget getting "thank you" notes, even for good reviews (although they do happen occasionally, for which I'm grateful). I can better expect to hear from them over negative reviews, if they write at all. Most of the time, though, they just vanish into the ether, happy they got what they wanted out of TFR.

As you're probably assessing by now, this is what I meant by not really understanding self-promotion. If you're a filmmaker, and you recognize yourself here, do yourself a favor and assign public relations to someone else.

Speaking of emails, I was not aware until Paul Guzzo told me earlier this year, that over the years, a few artists demanded to be taken off his email list because of negative reviews I wrote, and told never to contact them again. That he supported our teamwork to that extent is a testament to his strength and dedication. I've been cut out of a few email lists myself. Which brings me to my final thoughts...

For anyone who hopes to continue the TFR, or write reviews of same if I can't, please be aware: this is, flat-out, an ego-driven business. I've said that before but it bears repeating. It never ceases to amaze both Paul and me how much the artists feel entitled to and how much they expect to get for free. We are volunteering our time and efforts to HELP filmmakers get discovered and their films exhibited. We did not sign on to become their personal press agents.

Nolan's Pop Culture Review is not now, nor has ever been, a strictly promotional website for Tampa indie film. It is a pop culture, op-ed website that frequently features Tampa indie film. While my personal beat has been local film and I appreciate being kept in the loop regarding local fests and indie films in production, that does not obligate me to post schedules, films-in-production, or hundreds of movie posters right here on the homepage! I'm sorry if that was misunderstood. Paul Guzzo's Indie Film News is closer to what you're looking for there. And the Message Board is always available for that as well.

Paul Guzzo has noted that submissions to the TFR had fallen off in recent months. Besides the possibility of competing events thinning the herd, the alternate speculation is up-and-coming filmmakers find it more convenient to upload their films to YouTube, MySpace and the like, and wait to become "viral" or something. While YouTube and MySpace are fine for what they are, I think it is unrealistic to expect to become famous or recognized just from that exposure alone, if that's what you're counting on (I know it happens occasionally). It's hard to beat a live audience and subsequent networking, even if you find it scary or inconvenient.

A suggestion to whoever takes over the TFR, if any: please make clear with the artists you work with exactly what is involved in both the exhibition and review process. Tell them don't make just ONE disc and leave with it (deal-breaker? So be it)! Tell them it's a two-hour event and their presence is expected to introduce their film and take questions after. If they don't have time for this or can't be bothered with these details, then you don't have time to be bothered with them.

There is way too much talent out there that still needs to be uncovered and discovered. Common courtesy and a better understanding of the process will help everyone's cause immensely.


THE YEAR THAT WAS, PART 1.
January -- June, 2008

January. The first two issues of the year looked like we were still in 2007, as my upgrades could not be completed in time, but the articles were new anyway! By issue three (#408), PCR 2008 was more "underway". January saw the second installment of John Miller's CANOVA comic, then still in color. Yours truly fretted about its Archiving and still does! Paul Guzzo was optimistic about the Tampa film community "family", an irony in context of later events. Terence Nuzum would write his only column of the year(!), a two-part Audio Philes on the top albums of 2007. As yours truly boggles UFOs over Texas, the model for the Mona Lisa is positively identified. This month began a terrible year for celebrity deaths, as they dropped like flies, starting January '08: Chess Master Bobby Fischer, TV horror host legend Vampira (Maila Nurmi), Brad Renfro, Allan Melvin, and Susanne Pleshette begin the dark roll call. The Presidential race heats up as Hillary Clinton, still the strong Democratic contender before Barack Obama thrust forward later, visits Florida, as does Republican John McCain. February. ED Tucker attends F/X Con and observes the passing of Toy Shop magazine. Roy Scheider becomes the next celebrity casualty of 2008, Mike and Matt write up their memories. Cuban dictator Fidel Castro resigns office, citing health problems; his brother Raoul takes over. I am captivated by a young patron of The Village Inn restaurant sculpting with jelly packets. No Country For Old Men rules the 80th Annual Academy Awards as the particularly aggressive Grim Reaper steps up to capture Ben Chapman, Steve Gerber, Dick Fletcher (Tampa newscaster), and William F. Buckley, Jr. PCR's own Matt Drinnenberg cites the 50th anniversary of Famous Monsters of Filmland magazine, particularly sad in view of former editor Forry Ackerman's later passing. February ends with a bang as yours truly reviews young filmmakers for the Gasparilla Film Festival, but even more exciting, meets the legendary "Wizard of Gore" himself, Herschell Gordon Lewis and his producer David Friedman at an Ybor City gathering masterminded by PCR scribes Andy Lalino and ED Tucker. March brings with it more fan fests like Orlando's MegaCon, and one political sex scandal after another seems to sweep the nation. Dawn Wells is busted for pot, and yours truly attends the Bay Area Renaissance Festival with Lisa Ciurro and her in-laws. As we ponder what church Obama's been attending when hearing Rev Wright expound anti-American hate-speech, Prince Sirki comes to Earth to take Arthur C. Clarke away from us. Nolan's Pop Culture Review celebrates 8 years online, and the Iraq War "celebrates" 5 years of futility. April welcomes a new columnnist for PCR, Chris Munger with Sports Talk, our first regularly-scheduled sports-related column, but we say goodbye to a legendary cult-video store, the Tampa-based Unique Video. Reaper Sirki just can't get enough death, so comes to claim Charleton Heston. The Presidential race gets weirder and weirder as Clinton and Obama remain in a dead heat for Dems. ED Tucker interviews goremeister H.G. Lewis, about the same time as PCR's own Mike Smith gets hitched to his bride, Juanita (congrats!). I continue to marvel at Barack Obama's controversial but resilient candidacy. The Ybor Festival of the Moving Image gets a visit from Lisa Ciurro. Matt Drinnenberg reflects on Mike Smith's wedding day. May sees the release of Iron Man and I immediately pronounce it among the greatest comic-to-movie adaptations ever made and one of the summer's best films. I still stand by that. Paul Guzzo takes a look back on Tampa mayor Dick Greco. Senator Ted Kennedy is diagnosed with a brain tumor, and Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull fails to light many fan fires around the PCR headquarters. Hazel Court, Dick Martin, Sydney Pollack, Earle Hagen, and Harvey Korman follow The Reaper to the Great Beyond where so many others have gone this year. June sees Barack Obama become the Democratic Nominee despite the cacophony of controversy. One man's alien encounter caught on video becomes the next hoax-in-the-making for one enterprising man, another will follow when two yahoos allegedly find a dead Bigfoot on the side of the road later in the year! I find The Incredible Hulk to be heads-and-shoulders above Ang Lee's quirky earlier version, but still struggles to compete with Iron Man. President Bush announces regrets for the first time as gas climbs to a nat'l average of $4 a gallon for the first time. Yours truly deletes his MySpace account after dealing with spyware and malware infestations regularly brought on by the site. My computer's failed power supply got fixed quickly (yay), and after a brief absence, yours truly is back in action. According to a published study, Americans turned out to be more religious than previously thought. Sadly, the Dark-Robed One arrived for his appointment with George Carlin, who left us at age 71.


NEXT WEEK: THE YEAR THAT WAS, PART 2, JULY -- DECEMBER. Also, Special Thanks. The Year's Final PO BOX Column. The Graveyard of Fallen Columns. Any Final Words.


Readers' Comments

The Readers' Comments section for this issue of PCR is now closed. To continue to interact, please use the Message Board or write a Letter to the Editor! The comments below are listed starting with the most recent. Thank you.

Crazed FanComments -- We Welcome Reader Feedback on any article(s) on this page.
The Mutant [22-12-2008 15:21] 
Nolan, I'll go back to re-shoot my "Mutant" scenes, but I want a piece of the B/O this time around...plus my usual 20M.

Did I tell you that I finally got my check from *MGM for that work I did back in '76?



*My Grand Mother
The Mutant [22-12-2008 15:14] 
I've always known warm and sunny winters. Being a Floridiot, I prefer now cold at ANY time, much less xmas time.

I do like snow, but not to live in...just for vacations, etc.

It's been many years since I first painted the snow yellow.
Chris Woods [22-12-2008 15:08] 
I don't like the cold, but around Christmas time I miss the cold snowy NY weather. For me it doesn't feel like Christmas unless it's cold and there's snow everywhere.
Tom I. [22-12-2008 01:52]  
My first TFR. I liked it. I am sorry it is ending. Just like rules, egos can be broken. Well, I hope someone picks up the torch for TFR. It seemed like an excellent showcase for indie filmmakers.
J.MILLER [21-12-2008 15:30] 
I don't envy the cold...It's nice being able to go to the beach on Christmas...

Terence [21-12-2008 14:39] 
nolan is right is 80 here. i envy you mike. do you know how lame it is seeing santa and snowmen decorations in 80 degrees heat? it never feels like christmas in florida. its a bummer.
Nolan [21-12-2008 11:10] 
Steve, that reminds me...I need you back in Florida to re-film parts of your "Mutant of Atomic Beach" scenes! The Radioactive TV web program should go back "live" (so to speak) more regularly in 2009.

Mike: 4 degrees??? It's 80 in Tampa right now!!
The Mutant of Atomic Beach [21-12-2008 00:38] 
It's amazing how many have departed this earthly plane this year.

Being the Boomers that we (some of us) are, I suspect the death rate of favorite celebs from our childhood and teen years will grow exponentially over the next 20 years.

It's a chilly 62 degrees here in Auckland right now...and it's summer time.
Michael [20-12-2008 20:46] 
I believe there was a fine rememberance of Majel Barrett-Roddenberry in the Rant, SO I WAS FIRST!!! Hope everyone is enjoying the warm Florida weather. It's 4 degrees here. Yes....4.
ED [19-12-2008 07:48] 
Lisa - SSSSSSSHH! Still twelve more days! Keep it down!
Lisa C [19-12-2008 06:56] 
I popped over to post a quick "R.I.P. Majel Barrett Roddenberry" here but since Nolan already has, I'll just say:

Damn, the suckiness of 2008 just doesn't quit, does it?

Nolan [19-12-2008 06:03] 
R.I.P. Majel Barrett Roddenberry, wife of Star Trek's Gene Roddenberry, at 76. The original Number One, Nurse Chapel, and the voice of the ship's computer in all the TV series. Last role was ship's computer voice in the new Star Trek movie. She was always a favorite at fan conventions and was great at keeping the legacy alive.
NZ Axe Murderer [18-12-2008 17:52] 
Hey Paulie,

Is Mrs. Claus' secret life anything like Ms Page's?

One could only hope.
The Guzzo Who Stole Christmas [18-12-2008 16:02] 
Glad you guys like it ... I actually write something like that up every year for people ... I've also done Santa, Mrs. Claus and the Ghost of Christmas Past.
Steve Beasley [18-12-2008 14:53] 
Damn! I was shocked to hear about Rudolph's adventures until....I re-read it and siscovered it was a fake piece. I should'a read that first!
Chris Woods [18-12-2008 14:01] 
On another note....

Paul - Awesome article on Rudolph. It's kind of like the E! True Hollywood Story on him, or should I say True Christmas Story.

Lisa - Excellent article on Bettie Page. It was a cool look back at her life and how she became a pop culture icon. I also saw the film with Gretchen Mol, she did a great job in the film playing her.
Chris Woods [18-12-2008 13:52] 
Nolan - I enjoyed the write up for this week and last weeks as well. I do agree that people should be courtesy when a film is about to start or when someone is talking to not get up and leave. It's especially bad when it's a ton of people sitting up front. If you know going in that you can only stay for a certain time just be courtesy about, sit in the back and try to leave at a convenient time.

Those are just my thoughts but I have noticed the crowd has changed from the early days of TFR (when it was Coffeehouse Film Review) until this past year and the late part of 2007. Before it seemed like the same groups of people were coming and showing films all the time. Now there's mostly a different crowd every time and different filmmakers. Some that only just show a film there once and you never see them again. You don't have the recurring filmmakers coming back every month with a new film. There are still some, like Wynkoop, that are always there though.
Chris Woods [18-12-2008 13:44] 
I'm very sad to see the TFR go. It was a great event and for me and many others was a huge part of the film scene and was the main place to go to check out the newest local films. It was a cool place to watch movies and to talk to friends and other filmmakers. With it gone it leaves a big gap in the film community. Like Terence said below, they won't be a place for filmmakers to show their work. Yeah, they can stick it on line but it's not the same as going to an event and showing your film to a crowd.
Puff Chrissy [18-12-2008 13:26] 
A mind facial? hmm...
Nolan [18-12-2008 08:09] 
Paul got a lunch, Lisa got an email, and I got a rock.
Showcasing Puff Chrissy [18-12-2008 07:05] 
There should be a showcase that showcases all of the Tampa showcases. I confident that I just blew your mind all over your face!
The Ultra-Important Paul Guzzo [18-12-2008 06:43] 
Not only did we have lunch, he picked up the bill ... yeah, that's how I roll!
Paul The Ned Nosed Drunk [18-12-2008 06:42] 
NOOOOOO!! Terence, do NOT call it a showcase!!! We'll all be sued!!!!
Guzzo Cheerleader Lisa C. [18-12-2008 06:41] 
Paul -- So you had lunch with the film fest guy? I only got an email from him and now I'm jealous! :)

Steve -- Thanks! I already thought Page was cool, but I learned a lot about her this week that showed me how interesting and complex she really was.

ED -- I thoroughly enjoyed that movie and thought that Gretchen Mol did a great job portraying Page. Now that I know a little bit more about Page, I need to watch it again.

Terence -- You're absolutely right...the "tributes, etc." section is a little weak and skimpy because I ran out of time. I'll try to remember to post my notes (bullet points) on the message board, because I came across some amazing evidence of the influence Page had, and continues to have, on society, art, fashion and pop culture.

BTW, there's a Bettie Page documentary coming out in 2009...the filmmaker interviewed Page several times over the last 10 years. I'll post those details on the board.

People are fascinating, aren't they?
ED [18-12-2008 03:36] 
Lisa - have you seen the 2005 documentary The Notorious Bettie Page? I felt they did an excellent job capturing her spirit in that film and Gretchen Mol made a great Bettie Page. The film covers her career from the start until the time she retired from being a model and gives a lot of insight into the underground photography business as it operated in the 1950's. I found it very informative and highly recommend it.
Skull Island - Mayor Oogabooga [18-12-2008 00:30] 
It's a damned shame not one local citizen is willing carry the TFR torch that the Guzzo Brothers so bravely set alight a few years ago.
The Enlightened One in NZ [18-12-2008 00:21] 
Lisa, great obit on Bettie Page.

I knew you were going to do her justice! She was incredibly progressive for her era. Hell, she was progressive for OUR era! It's a shame she caught so much hell for her beliefs. We should never let politicians like Kefauver get away with harassing free thinkers like the divine Ms Page.
Terence [17-12-2008 21:47] 
Lisa- you pretty much covered it all. even though i thought i knew everything about her i had no idea her boyfriend was black. for her to do something like that back then and not care what others thought just makes her even cooler. and even though you didnt mention it cant be stated enough how much a influence she had on all the neo rockabilly girls who all dye their hair black with bangs just to look like her. only slight would be that you forgot to mention that a major part of her revival was due to Dave Stevens drawing her as the The Rocketeers girlfriend in the Rocketeer comic of the 1980s.
Terence [17-12-2008 21:39] 
haha yeah i guess i do need to read it paul. doesnt sound bad but its still a festival and not just a showcase. not to mention it puts restrictions on time limits and uses the accursed without a box program. that without a box thing is harder to use than a square baseball.
The Over Commenter Paul Guzzo [17-12-2008 21:16] 
Oh yea, Terence, you need to start reading my WONDERFUL film news! Check out item #6 ... a new film fest! LAst week, I had lunch with the guy who is running it. It is a annual weekend film festival dedicated to short films made ONLY by local filmmakers! See ... things are happening.
Father Christmas Paul Guzzo [17-12-2008 21:13] 
BTW, John, glad you liked the story... I may go to hell for it, though.
Clarifying Paul Guzzo [17-12-2008 21:06] 
Never thought you directed it at me ... no worries.

Man, it does kill us to walk away and I can't tell you how guilty I feel. I do feel like I am letting people down ... but we just have to right now. I hope everyone understands that we need to ... I love the TFR and have never been prouder of anything I have ever been a part of. But sometimes I guess we all have to make selfish decisions. This is definitely a selfish decision by me, as I am putting my career aspirations first.
The Christmas-Stealing Grinch Lisa C. [17-12-2008 20:55] 
Terence -- Thanks!! Damn, you're fast...I only published it like five minutes ago! I tried to find larger pictures, but couldn't, so all you boys will have to squint.. sorry. :)

I HEREBY PUBLICLY TRADEMARK, PATENT AND CALL DIBS ON THE NAME "TAMPA FILM REVIEW". Ha ha ha!! (Whaddya mean this won't hold up in court?)
Terence [17-12-2008 20:40] 
Lisa-great article on Betty Page! i was wondering when one of you all were gonna write her up.
Terence [17-12-2008 20:38] 
"If anything, I think Pete and me stepping aside will help it grow. We will always be here and always do what we can, but now others can also grab that torch and lead the way, which will only increase the number of leaders, right? "

i think you are more optimistic than I am haha like thats a shock haha
Terence [17-12-2008 20:36] 
woah! slow down i didnt mean that it was aimed at you. i was responding to Nolans view point in the article that i disagree with. those were complaints he forsaw as part of the reason i assume. of course no one is blaming you or trying to guilt trip you. im just repsonding to Nolans article. hopefully someone will jump to the challenge to make another event like it but its unlikely. i hope im wrong. no it wont close the door on local film but its demise automatically closes the door on a large group of low budget filmmakers. lets face it Gasparilla will never play Bob Saves the World Maybe or even Something for the TFR. They are a corporate entity and dont represent and wont represent community films of all budgets. like i said though i was responding to Nolans article.
The Always Optimistic Paul Guzzo [17-12-2008 20:15] 
But here is the beautiful thing Terence ... Pete and I don't own the patent on a monthly film event. In fact, we will gladly loan our projector to someone who wants to start their own event.

We're not stepping away from TFR for any of the reasons you mentioned ... we never expected thanks or pats on the back ... we are stepping away because we just don't have the time or energy right now. There are dozens of capable people in this town. We just need one of them to step up to the plate.

To say the local film scene is dead without TFR is a little much, isn't it?

If anything, I think Pete and me stepping aside will help it grow. We will always be here and always do what we can, but now others can also grab that torch and lead the way, which will only increase the number of leaders, right?

Besides, we are stepping away to pursue other projects. IF (a big IF) we are successful, maybe it will be a bigger step for local film.

Give it time man...
Terence [17-12-2008 19:57] 
the suggestion in the article that filmmakers dont need TFR anymore becuase they have other venues to go is ridiculous. now that its gone there is a army of up and coming backyard filmmakers that have nowhere to go. its actually proof that the film scene is done and drying up. it was just the final nail in the coffin. without a venue alot of them will have little enthusiasm if they have nowhere to play it. in its wake we are left with huge empty corporate festivals like Gasparilla. and with Public Access pretty much nil this is the end of an era for community filmmaking.
Terence [17-12-2008 19:51] 
......isnt your mindset than with all due respect to anyone who has ever run one of these and thought that way maybe it isnt your bag and you really dont need to be doing it in the first place. its about taking complete crap and getting nothing back except knowing you are doing the right thing. thats all it is plain and simple. you shouldnt care if people are grateful its the film or medium you are showcasing or promoting not the person. thats just my say and how i see it.
Terence [17-12-2008 19:48] 
regarding the TFR/ local film showcase part of Nolans article:

if you are going to run a event that is for free and the purpose of it is to show local film because its what you love and want to push and offer a venue to the community that otherwise isnt existant than all of the above grievances dont factor in. it isnt about wether the filmmakers are appreciating you. it isnt about wether the public isnt showing up and all your chairs arent filled or when they leave and how long they should stay. you arent doing this to preach morals and etiquette and you shouldnt be doing an event like that expecting or even getting dissapointed when you dont get respect. its not about that in the slightest. its like belief in a religion or standing up for a lost cause. its about showing local films and offering that venue not about wether the filmmaker give gratitude or even shows up or is a ungrateful ass. its about your love of the medium and support of the local version of this medium. if that..
Nolan [17-12-2008 14:40] 
HAHA!! You guys slay me. Thanks for the support, of course. BTW, I changed ad infinitum to ad nauseum...it was what I meant to say in the first place (re: "professionalism" comment). Woops.
J.MILLER2 [17-12-2008 14:20] 
Paul - That's the best Christmas article I have ever read...
Sugar Free Puff Chrissy [17-12-2008 14:04] 
Actually, I'm the one who told Nolan what to write and how to do it. When he was finished writing it, he looked me in my beautiful eyes and said, "You were right. I'm happy I listened to you. Christian, you are so smart and clever." I said, "No, it was you, Nolan. I was just the person who you couldn't have done it without."

Have I said too much?

Don't steal this post, Guzzo!
The Always Unprofessional Paul Guzzo [17-12-2008 13:42] 
And you did so without 5,000 words about how great you are and without mentionng your imaginary friends! I didn't know that was possible!
More Bad News Puff Chrissy [17-12-2008 13:31] 
Now that's more like it. Thanks for expanding on some of your points.
The Always Professional Paul Guzzo [17-12-2008 13:29] 
Wow ... great write uo Nolan. I can say that directors not showing up has always bothered me. As I said last week, as soon as my work schedule slows down a bit and before the final TFR, I will write up an article on my experiences over the past five years.
Again ... we are not leaving the TFR behind easily. It kills me to do it. But sometimes, things have to end and you have to move on.
[31-12-1969 16:00] 
End of Comments    


"Mike's Rant" is ©2008 by Michael A. Smith    "Matt's Rail" is ©2008 by Matthew Drinnenberg     "This Week's Movie Review" is ©2008 by Michael A. Smith    "La Floridiana" is ©2008 by Will Moriaty    "FANGRRL" is ©2008 by Lisa Ciurro    "Retrorama" is ©2008 by ED Tucker    "Sports Talk" is ©2008 by Chris Munger      All contents of Nolan's Pop Culture Review are ©2008 by Nolan B. Canova    
Crazed Fanboy dotcom is owned and operated by Nolan B. Canova


Please consider making a donation to help support Crazed Fanboy! Click on the "donate" link below and give whatever you can. I sincerely thank you for any and all consideration.---Nolan

Search:
Keywords:
In Association with Amazon.com


Back to Top