Either your browser's javascript has been disabled or it needs an update! Please re-enable your javascript program or update your browser to view this page as designed.
Nolan's Pop Culture Review 2009!
   Assistant Editor / Co-Moderator:  Terence Nuzum.                 HOME           ARCHIVES
Established A.D. 2000, March 19. Now in our tenth calendar year!
Number 496  (Vol. 10, No. 39). This edition is for the week of September 21--27, 2009.

"Fame"
Series Retrospective: Our Gang
The Top 30 Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror Actresses, #21-30
Kansai Gangstas
The Great Comic Book Swindle: Captain America Chapter .... .... .... .... .... .... .... h
Obama Tour - Acorn .... Auto Insurance? Excise Tax? .... Cosby Agrees With Carter, So What About Michael Steele .... You Bunch Of Teenagers .... 50 Ways... .... .... .... b
Minnesota .... Vote Early And Often .... Sorry To Hear .... Sorry Your Mom Was A Drunk (or Was She)? .... Bitter Bastard .... .... .... .... My Favorite Films, Part 2... i

Alrighty, Then...
Everything Sucks Now? Part 4: Comics, Personal Chapter
Interlude
Mackenzie Phillips Slept With Her Own Father
On The Death of Henry Gibson
Readers' Comments


EVERYTHING SUCKS NOW? PART 4: COMICS, PERSONAL CHAPTER
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 25, 2009

I'm calling this a "personal chapter" because my esteemed younger colleagues can comment more effectively than I regarding comics' quality control over the last fifteen years or so since I dropped out of collecting, so I'm keeping this short. I really only want to address a couple of things.

I've been inspired to write about this since Art Brown's editorial from a few weeks' back, Brandon Jones' current issue of Splash Page, and quite a few Readers' Comments. Now's as good a time as any to get to it.

My Start
I started reading comics around late 1963/early 1964 with a predilection for DC titles, later gravitating towards Marvel as I approached middle-school. By the mid-'60s to early '70s, I was collecting damn near anything in comics form. From any publisher. DC, Marvel, Gold Key, Fawcett, Dell, Archie, Whitman, one-offs, anything. Besides the consistency of their entertainment value, the one thing I prized the most is that I could drop out for a while (due to being cash-strapped or whatever) and resume with the confidence I could take up where I left off and not feel abandoned. Some of the titles had a history going back decades, and in light of that, it's amazing there were as few continuity problems as there were. "Continuity" would be obsessed upon by later generations of readers and publishers.

My passion for comics began to wane as far back as the late '80s when I smelled a rat regarding how new comics were being marketed and how older titles were being, well, abused, and audiences abandoned.

The Conspiracy
My "conspiracy theory" of sorts starts with the unrelated release of Star Wars (or as it's called now, Episode Four: A New Hope) back in 1977. It was after that that publishers and producers became aware that fantasy/science-fiction in any format was a super-hot property. It was about this time the Overstreet Price Guide for collecting comics was coming into its own as the de facto standard for old book values.

It took a few years, but a serious contempt began to develop among older creators and publishers that they weren't seeing a dime off their decades-old work that was now turning huge profits among dealers and collectors. That realization was not lost on the new creators and editors, most of whom started as fans/collectors themselves. It is my conviction that what could be perceived as the downfall of comics in the '90s started earlier with the "instant collectible", that is, something where the creators and publishers would turn a huge profit NOW, make the big money for themselves NOW, legacy concerns be damned. There were also creative ego problems, but I'll get to that in a bit.

Not to say there weren't good books being published during this time, don't get me wrong. I generally trace the infatuation with graphic novels, for example, to The Dark Knight Returns and Watchmen, both excellent examples of the format. Was The Killing Joke published about this time?

I think I realized it best when every month brought about, like, a dozen new "Number 1" titles. I knew from looking at them they weren't going anywhere, but I also sensed their "Number 1" status would guarantee instant knee-jerk reactions to collectors who couldn't miss out on the possiblity they'd be collectible down the road. (Generally-speaking, any title's first issue is the most valuable, though I know this isn't always the case.) Who still has their #1 issue of Dazzler? Howard the Duck?

Later -- and most insidiously -- was invented the "alternate cover" concept, arguably the most evil marketing gimmick ever. Here, to be thorough and pure, in order for your collection to be complete, you had to own several duplicates of the same comic so you'd have the different drawing or the dye-cut cover. That these were increasing in price as well was ignored as these were now seen as investments. (The Todd McFarlane Spider-Man packages still make my stomach turn.)

Thus began the era of collecting as "speculating", no longer following comics characters or stories necessarily, but worrying to death about their long-term appreciation. By the time of The Death of Superman, the last product I myself got suckered into, the handwriting was on the wall. Since most of these were worthless as anything but, ironically, "collectibles", the irony continues as closetfuls of "valuable" comics were being hoarded by untold legions of compulsive suckers. When the time came to unload them, there were no takers. Comics dealers now had backrooms overflowing and were practically giving them away.

Believe it or not, even this f*ck-over didn't completely turn me off comics quite yet. That's coming up next.

Group Alienation and Creative Ego
I mentioned before that I'd address creative ego. This is what I call the phenomenon where a creator insists on inventing or re-inventing something on an established title so he gets all the credit (and presumably, all the royalties). Parallel to this was the feeling, starting, I think as early as Crisis On Infinite Earths (itself a really good series), that baby-boomers were no longer a relevant demographic and had generally outgrown comics. To lure younger fans, it would be necessary to unload decades of continuity so they wouldn't feel all burdened by it. This is what was behind John Byrne's reinventing of Superman, Batman and The Hulk somewhere around 1990. The boomer cutoff, to me, culminated in The Death of Superman in 1992. Everything and anything that had ever been remotely important and familiar to me was being ejected and redone. They were now courting a younger crowd.

Until 2000, there was the real danger that comics would cease to exist. Of course, besides their cost/value problem, there was the factor that the age group they were trying so hard to lure was not interested in comics, but in video games and the like. That continues to this day.

With the success of Sam Raimi's Spider-Man (2002), comic-awareness increased and was now seen as a potentially valuable genre. Many terrific comics-to-movie adaptations have been produced.

The off-the-rack sales seem to have stabilized and many interesting comics series have come out over the last decade. Kingdom Come with those great Alex Ross covers definitely got my attention. For The Ultimates and Captain America Reborn and all that, Brandon, Terence, and Christian are more qualified to comment.

Epilogue
Which brings me to this issue's angst-ridden Splash Page, which reminds us that comics are still a business. They will do anything, say anything, sell anything to make a buck, even continually reboot series, and make up temporary continuities that aren't realized or announced as such until it's time to, well, reboot again, and heaven help me, I think they're still screwing with alternate covers.

Pity, because I cannot see how any long-term fans can be made with this approach, to say nothing about the hope of reacquiring older fans like myself.

But, hey, we still have the movies coming out, the most successful ones mostly based on decades-old titles with the most familiar continuity. The ironies compound.


INTERLUDE
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2009

I appreciate y'all's patience over the past couple of weeks while we sorted through some -- er, um...issues -- here at the PCR compound. I'm gradually re-adjusting some minor mission statement parameters between now and year's end for the 2010 version of Crazed Fanboy/PCR. (Can you believe it's been ten years since I started this nonsense? Haha.) I am grateful to have a core staff dedicated to keeping our standards high and material consistent, even when Ye Olde Editor nods off at the wheel every once in a while. And I mean ALL the writers. Despite what must look like lots of in-fighting, everyone's generally on the same page and wants to put forth their best.

OK, 'nuff of that, let's start with this week's sleaze...


MACKENZIE PHILLIPS SLEPT WITH HER OWN FATHER
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2009

I read about this just this morning and, after the initial revulsion passed, had me chuckling for no particularly good reason.

According to her new memoir, Mackenzie Phillips, who played the angst-ridden teen older sister to Valerie Bertinelli on the '70s TV sitcom One Day At A Time, has revealed she carried on an incestuous relationship with her own father that may have lasted as long as ten years.

Rock fans know -- or should know by now -- that Phillips' father was none other than John Phillips of the '60s vocal group The Mamas and the Papas (California Dreamin').

According to an interview with People Magazine, Mackenzie first became "aware"(!) of the relationship at the age of 19 after waking from a drug-induced blackout discovering she was having sex with her father the night before her own wedding. Since both of them stayed high pretty much all the time, pinning down when it all started became problematic. But according to Mackenzie, John hated the idea of her getting married and pitched the idea of the both of them running off together -- that is she and John.

She only revealed this relationship to her younger sister Chynna Phillips (of Wilson-Phillips Hold On For One More Day fame) fairly recently, telling her she felt it was something she needed to know. In retrospect, I think that might've been so she wouldn't have to get it out of a book.

Reader feedback on various news sites seem to suggest a feeling the whole story is either made up or exaggerated to sell books, but I'm skeptical of that. Besides reportedly sleeping around with rock stars, Mackenzie has had serious drug addiction issues practically her whole life, making headlines with turnstile rehab attendance even before the run of One Day At A Time ended. With the scandalous life led early on, would she really need to add fictional incest to get more attention? And why damage her own reputation even further, not to mention that of her legendary musician father? (According to the memoir, the sex was consenusal. Eeeasy, stomach.)

I didn't bother looking up her age, but I'm guessing she's at or around 50. This is generally about the time demons are exorcised for people with a disturbing past. Yep, I think she did it.


ON THE DEATH OF HENRY GIBSON
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2009

Due to my publishing/work schedule woes last week, I neglected to give just to due the passing of comedian/actor Henry Gibson, who died at the age of 73 from cancer. Please see last week's Mike's Rant for a well-written overview of Gibson's career.

Despite his earlier work, I wasn't really aware of Gibson until his stint on the '60s comedy series Rowan and Martin's Laugh In, one of my all-time favorite TV shows, and, in my opinion, an under-rated forerunner to Saturday Night Live.

On Laugh In, the machine-gun pace of the show would stop every ten-fifteen minutes or so to establish a small set with a piano player doodling some pleasant little ditty on the keys, then Gibson would emerge from behind a backdrop while holding an oversize prop flower. He'd nervously race to his spot and recite some quirky short poem (a precursor to SNL's "Deep Thoughts" by Jack Handy, methinks), give a curt little nod, turn and exit. This became one of the show's many iconic moments.

Henry Gibson reminds me of a better time when TV was wildly more experimental and he will be sorely missed.


Readers' Comments

The Readers' Comments section for this issue of PCR is now closed. To continue to interact, please use the Message Board or write a Letter to the Editor! The comments below are listed starting with the most recent. Thank you.

Crazed FanComments -- We Welcome Reader Feedback on any article(s) on this page.
ED [29-09-2009 07:03] 
Mike - Jackie Cooper and Norman "Chubby" Chaney were members of Our Gang in the early talkie days. These gradually morphed over the years to the more familliar roster with Spanky and Alfalfa. The shorts were known as Our Gang until Roach sold them and the name to MGM. He bought all of his shorts back a few years later but had to retitle them The Little Rascals when he re-released them to theaters and later television because MGM still owned the Our Gang name. That is how we all grew up watching that group of shorts and calling them The Little Rascals.
J.MILLER [29-09-2009 05:51] 
Im sure those same republikkklans you gave a lovetap on the wrist to are trembling in their fancy loafers...
Brandon [29-09-2009 03:28] 
I've railed against several Republicans since the column started and there haven't been huge stories like the C' Church pedophile case in awhile, I could have missed some stories, so send me a link to one that you think should be covered
Nolan [28-09-2009 22:55] 
To The_Researcher: Thank you, and yes I am aware of that problem. It's almost entirely an image file issue and had to do originally with a web host server crash, from which I had to make my own restoration. That project was incomplete because I had to learn the hard way (and elevated my priorities since) about making adequate back-up files, to say the least.
Michael [28-09-2009 19:54] 
ED, great piece on "Our Gang." Was that also the name of the series that featured Jackie Cooper, Stymie, Miss Crabtree, et all? I don't know why but this has always stuck in my mind: "Don't call me Norman....call me Chubsy Ubsy!" The things a child's mind retains!
Terence [28-09-2009 19:04] 

"I want to have the Pedophiles in the Catholic Church dealt with ALSO"

and yet we have never seen a column or post about it or anything that may pertain to your religious morals and or politics shown in a negative light. which is fine but at least admit it. i mean hey im just saying.
The_Researcher [28-09-2009 18:08] 
Nole, your archives from 2003/ 2004 are missing files. Just thought that you'd like to know that.
Brandon [28-09-2009 18:01] 
That weakest link is set to get 8.5 billion dollars. I don't want the Catholic Church to get Federal Tax money either.

"Turning the antics of some kids in the hood into some sort of national security threat is retarded."

National Security? How about illegal activities: tax evasion to set up a cover for illegal immigrant CHILDREN to run a child prostitution ring - caught on NOT ONE, but FIVE videos

I want to have the Pedophiles in the Catholic Church dealt with ALSO, but that doesn't exonerate ACORN
J.MILLER [28-09-2009 17:20] 
Right...They hire anybody from the community who applies...Those people try to increase their personal wages by filling out phony voter registration cards...ACORN catches these blemishes and reports them...

I worked there and seen what happens...Its the worst job and I lasted one day...Turning the antics of some kids in the hood into some sort of national security threat is retarded...Nobody I met working for ACORN was interested in politics...They just wanted an easy check...

If you want to make an organization with a "few" bad seeds into some type of boogyman why not go after the Catholic Church or someone with some type of actual influence in society...

Always picking on the weakest link...
Brandon [28-09-2009 16:38] 
Thanks John, I forget that NOT all readers are aware of the investigations in 14 states for voter fraud and the 300+ arrests of voter fraud. I guess the "Illegal alien" prostitution and child exploitation overshadows the long history of corruption within this organization
J.MILLER [28-09-2009 15:12] 
Im supposed to be outraged over a manufactured boogieman that gets petitions to raise the minimum wage and register voters?

What Branjo failed to educate PCR readers and his church group about in his column is that ACORN itself is who discovered and reported things like "Mickey Mouse" registering to vote...

Seriously...Is ACORN really the biggest fish Republikkklans can fry at the moment?..


Brandon [28-09-2009 03:26] 
Petrey, the greatest praise you could have ever given me, thanks. Your post is a short synopsis of my mission statement, thanks again
Juan Dion [27-09-2009 21:51] 
Roman Polanski is an awesome filmmaker, and my hero! Tampa filmmakers should look up to the French God of filmmaking!
junkfoodjoe [27-09-2009 21:47] 
ughhhhhhhh! john johnson silvers! i be hating that garbagee! its all breading and grease and no meet! capt d's for me, all te way! yah!
Michael [27-09-2009 20:25] 
Ah, Long John Silvers. It's funny, two of my favorite take out places, Chick Fil A and LJS were so near and yet so far to me. In Baltimore, there are Chick Fil A everywhere but the nearest LJS was right outside of Washington D.C. When I moved to KC, the nearest Chic Fil A was 60 miles to the west in Topeka but there was a LJS on every block. Thankfully in the past year Chick Fil A has branched out and now I can feast without having to pre plan a field trip.

Just heard those crafty Swiss have arrested Roman Polanski on a 30 year old warrant. As always, a dime short and three decades late. Oh well, this will make for a good Rant next week.
ED [27-09-2009 18:58] 
Petrey - I saw the Hal Roach Little Rascals shorts most of the time I was growing up. I guess I was lucky we had the Central Florida station that did play the MGM Our Gang stuff on weekends. The quality on the WB discs looks just fine and they were reasonably priced. I am just glad someone finally got around to releasing these. WB also just released Dont Be Afraid of the Dark on DVD as well.
Petrey [27-09-2009 18:15] 
Lisa, nice choices. What's interesting about Seymour if everyone remembers is that SINBAD was rated G. There's a sequence where she and a blonde girl are bathing nude when the trog. comes up on to them. The other interesting one was Jenny Agutter whose nude assets were shown in the PG rated LOGAN's RUN. I think Lucas robbed us of this with his Disneyfication cleanliness with SW because it seems to me the 'grit' in PG rated films became less frequent.
Petrey [27-09-2009 17:55] 
Brandon, I'm slowly and reluctantly learning things about politics. It's hard to live in a household with a war vet and politically obsessed mom without being forced to know. This thing with ACORN is so obviuos that Obama supporters who don't call him on it are hypocrites just like if Bush had screwed up and his voters were silent it would have been the same. I'm firm belief the government IS the government, period. The mannequin in the window is there for gullible people to take their anger out on. Ugh, I've already said enough. Politics bore me but wanted to give you credit on your piece.
Petrey [27-09-2009 17:47] 
Ed, that was a nice piece on Our Gang however I'm with Nolan in not knowing them as anything but the Little Rascals until later in life. Shame that these have to be purchased through WB's Archive series. The discs are burned and the reason they don't want to give a bunch of extra features is the 4.7GB limitation UNLESS they are shrinking the quality with bitrate adjustment or dual layer DVD-R. Oh well thanks!
Chris Woods [27-09-2009 17:40] 
Mike - I hope Genesis and KISS get in the H.O.F. Genesis is my favorite band and they should have been inducted years ago. I'm also surprised KISS wasn't in the H.O.F. all ready.
Steve Beasley [26-09-2009 22:47] 
Does it seem strange that when I type in, "Katherine Harris" at: http://mapper.nndb.com, Charlie Christ's name pops up?

I thought Christ was a Democrat....it appears they were close.
Phuckwadd P. Throckmorton [26-09-2009 18:20] 
If Google appears to have a typo today, it's the premier search engine's way of celebrating it's eleventh birthday!

HAPPY 'BIRTHDAY' GOOGLE!
Cotton-eyed Joe [26-09-2009 18:13]  
I like Steak & Egg.
MAD MATT [26-09-2009 12:11] 
I like eggs...
Chris Woods [26-09-2009 10:03] 
On the topic of comics, for me I haven't collected since 1987. I've always been a Marvel fan but collected other brands such as DC, Whitmen, etc. Just like Nolan, for me comics started to go downhill in the late '80's because of the writting, character direction of some of the super-heroes, the art, etc. and I stopped collecting. The 60's through the mid 80's were my golden time for comics. (I had lots of back issues from the 60's from my Uncle's collection) If I were to buy a comic now of Marvel or DC it would have to be from that area. Anything after that I really don't care for.
Chris Woods [26-09-2009 09:52] 
Yes, Connie Mason is a bad actress, but as time goes on, people will always remember her because the two H.G. Lewis' films Blood Feast and 2000 Maniacs. People will see this films a hundred years from now and they'll remeber that blonde from those two films. Also, Lisa's list is not just the best actresses in the genre, but what kind of impact they have or had throughout the years.
Major Major [26-09-2009 07:18] 
Unfortunately, the Dale Mabry LJS became a Pizza Hut around 10 years ago. I've been crying ever since.
junkfoodjoe [26-09-2009 05:44] 
i jus luv me some capt d's!!!!!!! mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. i like ta cram that greesyhush puppies an fish in my gullet! mmmmmmmmm
ED [26-09-2009 04:28] 
Ed, I understand the economics of casting someone like Connie Mason in a film but I don't think that warrents her any particukar recognition 40+ years on for being, as I said, basically a prop or gimmick. Her presence may have gotten Blood Feast some initial bookings but after word got about the gore I think that was what propelled it. You noticed after 2000 Maniacs, H. G. Lewis never used any type of name actors in any of his gore films.

BTW - love your movies, postumous Bela and all!
Ed Wood [26-09-2009 03:36] 
ED, keep in mind that although Connie Mason may not have been a great actress, if the director hadn't thought to include her in the cast, we'd likely not have even seen his films.

If I was shooting a film, I'd have no qualms about including someone like Heidi Montag in the cast. Just by being in the film, she'd raise my status as a director (remember Russ Meyers?) and increase the B/O take many times over.

Beautiful babes will always be a box office draw, regardless of their acting ability, and if the movie happens to be crap...these dolls will draw the crowds to a 'B' movie anyway. I'm sure you know this, but I thought it relevant.
Marty Allen [26-09-2009 02:35] 
I absent-mindedly forgot to mention that I lived in Brunswick in the early 80s...so it's been awhile.
Cap'n Crunch [26-09-2009 02:33] 
I forgot all about Captain D's! I haven't eaten at a Captain D's since living in Brunswick, Georgia where they had one on Altama Avenue...if they're anything like they were then, it could be better than Long John Silver's. Speaking of LJS, is there still one on Dale Mabry, just south of Kennedy in Tampa?
Major Major [25-09-2009 20:51] 
I don't know. I'm tempted to go down by FAMU and rekindle my love for the long-lost Captain D's.
Sgt. Rock - Easy Co. [25-09-2009 20:31] 
Jonesin' fer fish?

Then head on over to Barnacle Bill's just south of the Tallahassee Mall past Duval Street (MLK) on North Monroe (US27)!
Major Major [25-09-2009 20:15] 
Help! I'm trapped in Tallahassee and the closest Long John Silver's is in Valdosta, GA.
Nolan [25-09-2009 07:43] 
For me growing up it was The Little Rascals. I wasn't even aware of Our Gang until way later. Good stuff, ED.
ED [25-09-2009 07:36] 
Thanks Chris, I think it safe to say that 98% of the fans of these comedy shorts feel the same way you and I do.
Chris Woods [25-09-2009 07:26] 
Lisa - Awesome article! I enjoyed it very much. Can't wait for 20-11 and 10-1. Thanks for the thanks too.

ED - Great article on Our Gang. I use to watch them all time when I was a kid. I always liked the older shorts (Hal Roach ones) better then the later ones.
Puff Chrissy [25-09-2009 06:18] 
Brandon:

I suppose what I failed to convey is that I support these decisions when it's done for the sake of the story, and not when it's an obvious marketing ploy (like the Death of Superman, etc). Brubaker can't control how Marvel sells the story (and in fairness, Marvel is a company that wants to make money), but he can at least control the storytelling, which I feel he has done wonderfully.

Oh, and please, I'm tired of everyone looking at LOST when comparing Cap jumping through time. Vonnegut did it decades ago with Slaughterhouse Five, and even then it wasn't new.
Terence [25-09-2009 05:55] 
comics:

While I cant sya I agree about the Captain America stuff since I havent read it I can vouch that Brubaker is an amazing writer. the stuff he has done on Daredevil is great as was Bendis before him.
Terence [25-09-2009 05:53] 
Lisa:

Asia Argento isnt in the top 10!!! Ok maybe you are right. she cant really act but I figured being in Argento movies would put her higher. or maybe its just cus i have the hots for her. but i do know one thing....there is someone who better be number one. Ill wait till next week to see if you pick her.
ED [25-09-2009 05:37] 
Brandon - I couldn't agree more on DC's revolving door of death. Let's also not forget the recent return of Silver Age Flash Barry Allen in Final Crisis, which cheapens a really worthwhile death in Crisis on Infinite Earths, and the current Blackest Night maxi-series that might as be called Resurerction Crisis since who knows who is going to be back at the end of this one. I much preferred the old good guys vs. bad guys in good stories. Those were the days!

Lisa - cool piece on the actresses but I find it hard to believe Connie Mason made the list even in the bottom spot. The woman could not act and was hired solely to trade on that fact that she had appeared in Playboy. She seemed like more of a prop in Blood Feast and 2000 Maniacs than an actor. Lynn Lowry on the other hand is a highly underrated actress who deserved a better career than she got. If you liked her scene in Sugar Cookies, you owe it to yourself to find a copy of Radley Metzger's Score. That's a classic!
Brandon [25-09-2009 04:41] 
Puff, you're just deepening my point because it was all contrived and won't matter 5 or 10 years from now. Even if there's a decent story that drives the "comic sales" it will ultimately be undone with some sort of special "return" issue. It feeds off the collectors and this instance isn't really any different.

The characters usually remained unchanged, never "learning " from these events (if they even occurred in the new timeline or universe) What drama is there battling Doomsday: well, he killed me before but this time will be different; if not, oh well, I'm sure I'll be back in a couple of months

Summary: Cap America appears; "Hey, Buck, you're holding my shield. You look good, glad you're alive. How 'bout we find Falcon and go kicks the Red Skulls A** for doing this to us"
Defending Puff Chrissy [25-09-2009 01:29]  
I have to disagree with the Captain America resurrection. While the Death of Superman and Knightfall were terrible ideas, Captain America Reborn has been a part of Ed Brubaker's plan from the very beginning, a story he's been setting in motion for five years at this point.

If anything, I'm annoyed for different reasons. I actually enjoy the new status-quo. I think Bucky makes an excellent Cap. His taking over of the shield actually brings Captain America back to his roots as a man displaced from his own time. Bucky, in Brubaker's hands, has proven to be an incredibly interesting character.

I'm going to be annoyed when Steve Rogers takes over again.
Steppin It Up Lisa [24-09-2009 23:28] 
Aww, thanks Nolan!! When I saw your post about PCR writers "putting forth their best" and "keeping their standards high", etc, I figured I'd better get my butt in gear and try not to look like a slacker this week. LOL

Petrey -- Thanks! Glad your family members got good news too.
Nolan [24-09-2009 23:19] 
Lisa, I don't know how you did it, but you've managed to outdo yourself again. Outstanding FANGRRL this week! I'm already looking forward to Part 2.
Nolan [24-09-2009 23:10] 
And let's not forget this weirdness also touched the world of Archie and Veronica! They're supposed to get married or something, and in the end I think all that's going to be some alternate universe thing. Don't even get me started on the "new look" Archie and gang. Nothing's sacred anymore.
Brandon [24-09-2009 18:12] 
Thanks Nolan, we can also add Heroes Reborn from 96-97 in which Cap America, Avengers, Iron Man and F Four all stopped (remember Onslaught) and were handled by Jim Lee & Rob Leifeld. Some interesting art by Lee, but what a mess. Later they "returned" to the regular universe and all was forgotten.

Add in Kevin Smith's Green Arrow alternate death incarnation, the Green Lantern relaunch and the premise of 52 was one year without Wonder Woman, Superman and Batman.

Anybody remember went writers just wrote bod guy vs good guy stories and didn't try to over think.

Don't even get me started the variant covers
Petrey [24-09-2009 17:54] 
I must have really been into HAPPY DAYS because I can barely remember watching one episode of ONE LAY AT A TIME.
Nolan [24-09-2009 17:34] 
Brandon, thanks for a very insightful Splash Page. Your opening paragraph regarding The Death of Superman mirrors my exact feelings as have been mentioned in these pages many times. Captain America Reborn looks like they've learned nothing from that episode.

This issue of S.P., together with Art Brown's editorial from PCR homepage #493, basically outlines why "Everything Sucks Now, Part 4: Comics".
Nolan [24-09-2009 17:10] 
OK, so I was right the first time, haha! Mackenzie is nearly 50. Bertinelli is 49. I thought their age spread was wider than that. Thanks.
Foghorn Leghorn [24-09-2009 15:50] 
Just to clarify:

According to IMDb, Mackenzie Phillips was born November 10th, 1959.

Valerie Bertinelli was born April 23rd, 1960.
Nolan [24-09-2009 07:03] 
Admittedly, anything interesting pertaining to Mackenzie Phillips is probably more of a baby-boomer thing as One Day At A Time was off the air by the time Generation X-ers were watching TV. Also, after further thought, I think Valerie Bertinelli is about 50, so I may have to revise Phillips' age upward to into her 50s.
John_Rambo [24-09-2009 04:54] 
Yo. Adrian. When I first heard about Mackenzie Phillips in the news, I had no idea who she was. I still do not. I did hear on the news that Mick Jaggar close a door on her, embraced her, and told her that he had been waiting to have her for ten years, or some twisted stuff like that.
Paul Guzzo [23-09-2009 21:06] 
Wait ... why is Mackenzie PHillips still in the news? I have boogers that have been more relevant in recent years than her.
Michael [23-09-2009 20:54] 
I should clarify that I would only "jump" on Chynna Phillips if she WASN'T my daugher. My point was that I will always see Mackenzie (named, I believe, after Scott Mackenzie, who wrote "Are You Going To San Francisco" and, coincidentally, co-wrote "Kokomo" with Papa John) as the chipmunk faced girl she was in "American Graffiti" and, sadly, still is.
Michael [23-09-2009 20:51] 
Papa John must have really been stoned because I would have jumped on Chynna if I'd had my druthers! Oh well, the guy did help write "Kokomo."

Those of you looking for this week's review, it will be up sometime Thursday evening. For some reason the film companies are having hissy fits about reviews (even good ones) being posted prior to opening day. Of course, after I got the email I saw a television commercial for "Where the Wild Things Are" that was full of review quotes. Hoping to keep the peace with the local film company agencies for the time being. Look for my review of "FAME" in the P.M. I know, you're thinking "Fame?" Unfortunately they aren't screening the new Bruce Willis film until Thurs eve. Sounds like a stinker!
Brandon [23-09-2009 11:46] 
Pee Wee is a star again...with his abstinence ring
Petrey [23-09-2009 11:46] 
Happy belated b'day to J. Miller and double congratulations to Lisa! My mother, sister-in-law and her daughter all tested negative for breast cancer this past summer. What are the odds? Ed, that was a cool piece on the drive-in. Have any of you looked at that thing from Google Earth?
[31-12-1969 16:00] 
End of Comments    


"Mike's Rant" is ©2009 by Michael A. Smith     "This Week's Movie Review" is ©2009 by Michael A. Smith     "La Floridiana" is ©2009 by William Moriaty    "FANGRRL" is ©2009 by Lisa Scherer Ciurro    "Retrorama" is ©2009 by ED Tucker     "Splash Page" is ©2009 by Brandon Jones     "State of the Nation" is ©2009 by Brandon Jones    "Growing Up Fanboy" is ©2009 by Chris Woods    "Sports Talk" is ©2009 by Chris Munger     "The Asian Aperture" is ©2009 by Jason Fetters     "Musical Musings" is ©2009 by Robert Tyler      All contents of Nolan's Pop Culture Review are ©2009 by Nolan B. Canova    
Crazed Fanboy dotcom is owned and operated by its founder, Nolan B. Canova


Please consider making a donation to help support Crazed Fanboy! Click on the "donate" link below and give whatever you can. I sincerely thank you for any and all consideration.---Nolan

Search:
Keywords:
In Association with Amazon.com


Back to Top