Either your browser's javascript has been disabled or it needs an update! Please re-enable your javascript program or update your browser to view this page as designed.

Home  |  Message Board  |  Creature Feature  |  Paranormal  |  Multimedia  |  Email Us  |  PCR Archives  |  Spotlight  |  Classics From The Vault
"Dear John"
I Talked With A Zombie: The Seth Sklarey Interview
The Top 30 Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror Actresses, #8-6
Remembering Asian Pop Culture Magazines
My Ten Favorite Hip-Hop Films
Heading South .... History .... Movie Notes .... Passing On .... .... .... .... .... Mike's Record Shelf e
Nolan's Pop Culture Review 2010!
Assistant Editor / Co-moderator: Terence Nuzum

Established A.D. 2000, March 19. Now in our eleventh calendar year!
Number 515  (Vol. 11, No. 6). This edition is for the week of February 1--7, 2010.

Occasions
PCR Writer Will Moriaty Spotlighted in St. Pete Times
Official Oscar Nominations
Happy Groundhog Day!
Mike's Oscar Nominations
Rip Torn's Arrest
Readers' Comments


-- THE FIRST DECADE --
Crazed Fanboy's Most Memorable Moments, 2000--2009
As submitted by PCR writers, compiled by Chris Woods
ODDSERVATIONS: GRINDHOUSE CINEMA FANS STORM TAMPA THEATER
From 2004, Andy Lalino's retelling of a crazy night at The Tampa Theater back in 1989.
FEBRUARY BIRTHDAYS
Doug Deal, Feb 6, 51 yrs.
Byron Rocher, Feb 8, 43 yrs.
Cathy Wynkoop, Feb 8, 39 yrs.
Andy Lalino, Feb 17, 43 yrs.
William Moriaty, Feb 24, 55 yrs.
Bobby Tyler, Feb 27, 19 yrs.
PCR WRITER WILL MORIATY SPOTLIGHTED IN ST. PETE TIMES

POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 4, 2010

My long-time friend William Moriaty is someone I've always been proud to know and this week is certainly no different.

Will, once dubbed by Tampa radio and TV personality Jack Harris as "Florida's Johnny Appleseed", this environmental activist has tirelessly promoted hands-on reforestation efforts in the Tampa Bay area for over 30 years.

Wednesday's St. Petersburg Times covered Will's planting of thousands of Sea Grape saplings along the Howard Franklin Bridge approach, which will eventually nudge out the nuisance Brazilian Pepper trees. (Any South Tampa resident is accutely aware of both the Brazilian Pepper and the Melaleuca "Punk" trees with which our neighborhoods were bulit decades ago due to their quick growth. After virtually taking over the topography, they've since been outlawed.)

Will is an environmental hero. READ THE COMPLETE STORY HERE.


FINAL OSCAR NOMINATIONS
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 4, 2010

Well, outside of Star Trek being shut out and the wildly over-rated Avatar and District 9 getting the nods, I have no other feelings towards this.

Here are the official, final Academy Award nominations for this year. Mike Smith has some commentary at the end for a comparison to how his nominations stacked up.


FINAL ACADEMY AWARD NOMINATIONS:
BEST PICTURE

Avatar
The Blind Side
The Hurt Locker
Inglorious Basterds
An Education
District 9
Precious
Serious Man
UP
Up in the Air

BEST DIRECTOR

James Cameron - Avatar
Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker
Lee Daniels - Precious
Jason Reitman - Up in the Air
Quentin Tarantino - Inglorious Basterds

BEST ACTOR

Jeff Bridges - Crazy Heart
George Clooney - Up in the Air
Colin Firth - A Single Man
Morgan Freeman - Invictus
Jeremy Renner - The Hurt Locker

BEST ACTRESS

Sandra Bullock - The Blind Side
Hellen Mirren - he Last Station
Carey Mulligan - An Education
Gabourey Sidibe - Precious
Meryl Streep - Julie and Julia

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Matt Damon - Invictus
Woody Harrelson - The Messenger
Christopher Plummer - The Last Station
Stanley Tucci - The Lovely Bones
Christoph Waltz - Inglorious Basterds

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Penelope Cruz - Nine
Vera Farmiga - Up in the Air
Anna Kendrick - Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal - Crazy Heart
Mo'Nique - Precious

ON THE FINAL OSCAR PICKS        by Michael A. Smith
When the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced last summer that they were doubling the number of films eligible for the Best Picture Academy Award from five to ten, academy president Sid Ganis commented that the awards ceremony would be better served by a broader range of nominees. "I won't say the words "Dark Knight" didn't come up," Ganis said, highlighting not only the biggest box office success of the year but one of the years most critically acclaimed films. In fact, the web site RottenTomatoes, to which this critic contributes, gave "The Dark Knight" a 94% positive rating. Of the 269 reviews submitted for the film, only 17 were negative. "Who knows," Ganis remarked, "next year there might even be a comedy."

Each year, on nomination eve, I try to come up with the films and performances I think are going to get Oscar nods. And each year I do pretty well. This year I'm happy to say that of the 25 nominations given for acting and directing, I had 24 right. And my apologies to Maggie Gyllenhaal, who I completely blanked on when coming up with my Best Supporting Actress picks. In the Best Film category, I only scored 6 of 10. For me the first five were no brainers: "Avatar," "The Hurt Locker," "Inglourious Basterds," "Precious" and "Up in the Air." These were the films that had been fighting each other all awards season and if Hollywood is one thing, it's predictable. The other 5 were supposed to be the ones that had the incredibly bad taste of being both well made AND profitable. My list included "UP," which also made the academy's short list. And a great choice. As for the Ganis suggested comedy, I went for "The Hangover." Also on my list was "Star Trek," a film that, like "The Dark Knight," scored a 94% positive feedback on RottenTomatoes. Sadly I learned that, damn it, Jim, I'm a film critic not a fortune teller! Even though a couple high grossing hits like "The Blind Side" and "District 9" were nominated, they were joined by such box office power houses as "An Education" and "A Serious Man," which totaled an amazing $17 million between them. In years past, producers were rewarded for creating films that not only scored big at the box office but with critics as well. I wonder today if films such as "Jaws," "Star Wars" and "Raiders of the Lost Ark," would even sniff the best picture nomination they scored 30 years ago. Something tells me that they would have only been given the academy's admiration and told "thank you very much!"



HAPPY GROUNDHOG DAY!
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 2, 2010

"Rise and shine, campers, it's coooooold outside!" Forever inspired by those words in the movie named after this special day, and realizing a true national treasure of a holiday, I sincerely wish everyone a Happy Groundhog Day! And yes, the groundhog saw his shadow, so we have six more weeks of winter. So be it.


MIKE'S OSCAR NOMINATIONS
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 2, 2010

Following a tradition here at PCR, our own Mike Smith has sent in his Oscar Nominations for this year slightly ahead of the Academy to see how close he gets. In his personal email he says, "It was a bitch coming up with 10 Best Picture nominees!" I believe him.

According to Mike, here are the worthy contenders:

BEST PICTURE

Avatar
The Hangover
The Hurt Locker
Inglorious Basterds
Invictus
Nine
Precious
Star Trek
UP
Up in the Air

BONUS PICK The Lovely Bones

BEST DIRECTOR

Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker
James Cameron - Avatar
Lee Daniels - Precious
Jason Reitman - Up in the Air
Quentin Tarantino - Inglorious Basterds

BONUS PICK Clint Eastwood - Invictus

BEST ACTOR

Jeff Bridges - Crazy Heart
George Clooney - Up in the Air
Colin Firth - A Single Man
Morgan Freeman - Invictus
Jeremy Renner - The Hurt Locker

BONUS PICK Matt Damon - The Informant!

BEST ACTRESS

Sandra Bullock - The Blind Side
Marion Cotillard - Nine
Carey Mulligan - An Education
Gabourey Sidibe - Precious
Meryl Streep - Julie and Julia

BONUS PICK - Helen Mirren - The Last Station

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Matt Damon - Invictus
Woody Harrelson - The Messenger
Christopher Plummer - The Last Station
Stanley Tucci - The Lovely Bones
Christoph Waltz - Inglorious Basterds

BONUS PICK Christian McKay - Me and Orson Welles

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Penelope Cruz - Nine
Vera Farmiga - Up in the Air
Anna Kendrick - Up in the Air
Diane Krueger - Inglorious Basterds
Mo'Nique - Precious

BONUS PICK Julianne Moore - A Single Man


RIP TORN'S ARREST
POSTED BY NOLAN B. CANOVA, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 2, 2010

Did anyone else see that bizarre episode a couple days ago where 78-year-old actor Rip Torn was arrested trying to hold up a bank? My god, that's weird. After some wheeling and dealing between his attorney and the DA for his town in Connecticut, Torn agreed to attend rehab in exchange for -- I think -- a suspended sentence.

Appearing in court looking like an aged hippie, Rip's lawyer asserted that Rip was so drunk that he thought the bank was his own house. And the judge evidently sympathized! (I guess where Mr. Torn lives, trying to stage a bank heist at your own home is what people do when they're drunk.)

This is an award-winning actor. My strongest memory of Rip Torn is his role as Richard Nixon in a TV movie, as a sidekick on The Larry Sanders Show, and of course, his starring turn in Men in Black. But this is just sad.



Readers' Comments

The Readers' Comments section for this issue of PCR is now closed. To continue to interact, please use the Message Board or write a Letter to the Editor! The comments below are listed starting with the most recent. Thank you.

Crazed FanComments -- We Welcome Reader Feedback on any article(s) on this page.
matthew [08-02-2010 20:02] 
Planet of the Apes, starring Charlton Heston, was released 42 years ago today, february 8th, 1968.
ED [08-02-2010 11:49] 
I remember seeing the poster for Lepus in the theaters. It was artwork of a guy swinging a shovel at a bunch of giant disembodied eyes in the darkness surrounding him and looked scary as hell. Years later when I saw the film on cable and heard the immortal line "There's a herd of giant killer rabbits and their headed this way", I realized that was not the case!
Petrey [08-02-2010 07:32] 
Terence - My family used to talk about this film when I was young like it was some kind of masterpiece :) I'll burn you a copy today of LEPUS and send it out.

Steve - That's cool you got to see the game with at least the halftime show because by now I'm sure the superbowl commercials are being or have been uploaded to youtube.

Nolan - That's the first time I've seen a user ID be rated by the MPAA, ha!
Nolan [08-02-2010 06:51] 
To Happy Young Man: our sports writer, Chris Munger, has no operating computer at the moment. He is out of commission until he gets his tax refund and gets another machine.

To Steve Beasley: best as we can tell, HYM is PG.
Steve [08-02-2010 03:49] 
I just realized. What I didn't get here were the Super Bowl TV commercials. Damn!
Beaz [08-02-2010 02:57] 
Happy Young Man: I'm not a sports freak, but I do enjoy a game occasionally. Especially the big games. Decades ago, I worked for the Tampa Sports Authority and saw all the games for free, including the Super Bowl. I loved it!
By the way, who are you HYM? If you typed your real name woluld I know you?

Petrey: Nah, no $$ on the game. We're lucky we get to see the occasional American football or baseball game here. 3/4 of the people here are hardcore rugby fans and the remaining quarter are cricket fans (snooze). I've found very few football fans here. They say American football is played by sissies because they wear helmets. I explained that the hitting in football is much harder than what they do in rugby. I don't think they bought it. Anyway, I was shocked that they even showed the Super Bowl on TV here. They showed it once before (last year), but they nixed the halftime show. This time we got the entire show including the halftime show!
Terence [07-02-2010 21:42] 
Petrey- a Lepus copy would be great! i have never seen it. im sure it is ridoculously bad and campy but its about killer rabbits! so i gotta see it lol
Petrey [07-02-2010 21:18] 
Any $$ won on the Saints Steve? (wink)
Happy Young Man [07-02-2010 20:43] 
Yeah Beasley, like people here watch sports ... they are too cool for such mainstream trash.
Michael [07-02-2010 20:34] 
Chris, my apologies for missing that. I read your review at about 4 am and I can't guarantee I didn't doze some!

Petrey: Unfortunately today's movie goers would probably miss the whole point of Caesar's speech.

"Ape must not kill Abe" That's your name, teacher. I loved that little chimp.

At work we have to watch these OLD safety videos. Most of them are narrated by Claude Akins, so I always think of Aldo from "Battle" telling me to be careful about walking around ladders.
Petrey [07-02-2010 20:15] 
Mike - Maybe the reason these directors have passed on CONQUEST is that they don't want to water down the speech given by Caesar to MacDonald comparing the rise to power through revolution and that HE (macDonald) of all people should understand it. According to some reviewers black folk cheered "Right On!" while this dialogue was being given by Caesar. Would that cause an uproar now? Who knows.
Beasley [07-02-2010 18:54] 
The Saints by 14! Woohoo! I couldn't have planned it any better!
Petrey [07-02-2010 18:46] 
I have a beautiful burn of the studio's LEPUS DVD with menu/languages/trailer/scene selections if you want it Terence.
Terence [07-02-2010 16:31] 
im actually shocked to see that I Am A Fugitive From A Chain Gang and Dillinger is on there! I never had a chance to get either. also i am now kicking myself for not picking up Night of The Lepus. if anyone can hook me up with Lepus copy even if its a bootleg itd be appreciated.
Petrey [07-02-2010 12:33] 
Oh, click on 'Warner Starts Thinning Their Catalog 1929-1972' link under the Warner logo.
Petrey [07-02-2010 12:29] 
I think all of us have benefited from low price DVDs from Big Lots. Check out this interesting link about Warner Bros. and the company they hired to trash those discs! Pretty interesting read.

http://www.rareoopdvds.com/articles/featu red/warneroop/

Crazy, just crazy.

Chris Woods [07-02-2010 12:13] 
Lisa - Enjoyed your latest installment of your Top 30 Horror/Sci-fi/Fantasy actress. Linnea Quigley is also a favorite genre actress as well.

Mike - I mentioned in the review about the Star Wars sign. Here's what I put: "Also, thereís a part where Billy passes by a Star Wars sign and fires at it. I guess they were trying to say Star Wars was nothing and this is the real sh@t. Yeah, itís sh@t all right." That's also funny that Kim Milford was in Corvette Summer with Hamill.
ED [07-02-2010 08:53] 
Heads up on DVDs. Big Lots has a new bumper crop of them in for $3 each. I picked up Hammer's Mummy, Dracula has Risen from the Grave, and double feature of Curse of Frankenstein and Tast the Blood of Dracula this weekend. They also have some good John Wayne films and some older horror titles. If you see a documentary called The Sci-Fi Boys, I highly recommend you buy it. It is well worth $3.
Petrey [07-02-2010 01:22] 
LASERBLAST must have been extremely dead for GCC to move it from the 'big house' to one of the side houses after only the weekend.

CHIJDREN SHOULDN'T PLAY WITH DEAD THINGS was playing at the Tower Drive-In as a co-feature in 1980 the same night I tuned into Channel 26 out of Fort Myers and caught it on the late, late show.

Looks like Nino's is closed.

I really love how they have made Gandy Blvd. nice looking with all the street lights(old fashioned globe type) and such. But did you notice anything strange? The beautification stops once you get past the Crosstown to the east going towards Bayshore. Looks like they are wanting the strip to look nice for certain commuters, i.e. St. Pete.

While a high speed rail to Orlando sounds good, we could desperately use money for transit for Tampa. Hartline is a ghost of it's former self.

BTW although I realize I haven't been on the message boards as I'd like, it seems to be growing cobwebs. Tumbleweeds slowly rolling by.
ED [06-02-2010 13:37] 
Mike - the scene you remember is indeed in the film. I remember that garnering a few honks at the drive-in when it happened. I remember a lot of the post Star Wars cash in like this and Starship Invasions and even Star Crash ending up at the local drive-in. I couldn;t find a screen grab of it on the web. I guess I will have to put in the file for a "You Asked for It" piece!
Michael [06-02-2010 12:48] 
Lisa...........FINALLY - LINNEA QUIGLEY! Grrrrwwwwllllll :-)

I was working at the Britton when "Laserblast" opened. One of the rare films that played the big middle theatre on the weekend and on Monday got shifted to one of the smaller ones. As I haven't seen the film in over 30 years, can someone confirm that there was a scene where an obviously homemade billboard for "Star Wars" was destroyed? I seem to remember it was in "Laserblast." Ironically Kim Milford later appeared with Mark Hammil in "Corvette Summer."
Simon Lynx [05-02-2010 19:50] 
Will - Read the article on the sea grapes. Good for you.
Simon Lynx [05-02-2010 04:40] 
John - always liked New Jack City, and the first House Party.
Simon Lynx [05-02-2010 04:28] 
Jason - Being a Bruce Lee fan of course I was a bit bias no matter what. They were ok overall. I thought it was funny that they incorporated 2 characters that strongly resembled Chuck Norris and Van Damme. I was never a big Chuck Norris fan (Sorry Joel), It was funny that his character was the bad guy and was a steroid dealer in one of the issues.
Steve [05-02-2010 00:24] 
Sorry Nole, I do read the front page of your e-zine. I suppose old age is catching up with me.
Jason Fetters [04-02-2010 23:57]  
Simon - Yes I did see it. It just fizzled out. What did you think of it?
Nolan [04-02-2010 23:23] 
Steve: the link to Will's article in the St. Pete Times is in my headline section in boldface. You should read the homepage sometime, haha.

I remember liking Laserblast primarily because of Dave Allen's stop-motion effects. I didn't remember all that much else about the movie until Chris's Schlockarama review. Now I want to see the MST3K version, too, haha.
Chris Woods [04-02-2010 19:39] 
Simon - I remember when you first showed me Laserblast on MST3K. It was hilarious and still is. I remember also watching the original for the first time and of course wasn't as good or funny as the MST3K version and for me without the MST3K gang a part of the movie it's not the same.

ED - When you get a chance check out the MST3K with Laserblast if you haven't all ready. It's great.
Steve Beasley [04-02-2010 19:21] 
Jon Lovitz - I agree with Mr. Miller. I'll also add that your role as Penny in Sky King was nothing short of iconic!
J.MILLER [04-02-2010 19:16] 
Jon Lovitz - High School High sucked...But I did enjoy your performance in the Wedding Singer and your cartoon show The Critic was a huge inspiration growing up...
ED [04-02-2010 19:04] 
I saw Laserblast at the Ocala Drive-In the weekend it was released. It was a real movie all right. It wasn't a real good movie but it was real! I remember Dave Allen's aliens looked pretty impressive up on the big screen but they weren't in the film for long and everything else was pretty boring.
Steve [04-02-2010 18:22] 
Is there a link to Will's article in the St.Pete Times? I've searched without luck.
Michael [04-02-2010 17:49] 
Lonnie, I was as stunned as you were to hear Kim Milford had died

http://www.crazedfanboy.com/npcr/letterspcr210.html

He was in his late 20s when he did "Laserblast." He earned his fame as the original Rocky in the LA production of "The Rocky Horror Show" and was also the lead singer for the Jeff Beck Band. Sadly, he died in 1988 from a bad heart.
Simon Lynx [04-02-2010 16:59] 
Jason - I actually have the 6 issue set of Bruce Lee comics, from back in the mid 1990's. As far as I know they never made anymore. Have you ever seen them?
Simon Lynx [04-02-2010 16:57] 
Jason - you brought back so many memories with the magazines. I purchased countless issues of the Kung Fu related mags.
Simon Lynx [04-02-2010 16:55] 
Chris - laughed at your Laser Blast article. I was there the first time you saw it on MST3000, I remember us laughing so hard and wondering if it was a real movie.
William Moriaty [04-02-2010 16:47] 
Thanks everyone for the support concerning the St. Petersburg Times article. Now if only my $$$@!!! house could get finished!
Chris Woods [04-02-2010 15:35] 
Will - Congrats on the St. Pete Times article.
Chris Woods [04-02-2010 15:25] 
Jason - Thanks. Glad you liked the review of Laserblast. I never seen Light Blast, but if it has Erik Estrada it must be a winner. LOL! Also, cool piece on Asian Magazines and all the Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan stuff. That's cool you mentioned Merlin's Comics. I've been there a few times back in the 90's.

Lonnie - Thanks for the info on Kim Milford from Laserblast. I didn't know he was dead.
Just Plain Lisa [04-02-2010 15:25] 
Sometimes a "few hours of escapism" is all I want out of a movie. Color me crazy.

Will -- Congrats on the media attention!! Yay you!
Dumb Young Man [04-02-2010 15:03] 
Duh... Sho do wish Is werz as smartz as yall.... duh... Yall sho duz scares lil ol mees
J. MILLER [04-02-2010 14:23] 
Paul - What point did you prove, that people treat movies as a disposable source of entertainment? We already knew that...Thats why we dont go see them...

I really dont think you know anything about what it is this site is about nor what we talk about...You just hear us discuss movies you've never seen or filmmakers you've never heard about and it freaks you out for some reason...

Lonnie Dohlen [04-02-2010 11:31]  
Chris,the leading Man, who plays Billy in LASERBLAST,is actor Kim Milford,who died in 1988.He had a Guest Role on the MOD SQUAD (1971 #67 ''Kicks Incorporated").
Uncle Rico [04-02-2010 10:38] 
Hey Tez ... I finally found a time machine! Come on by and we can go back in time a few decades when life was good so we don't have to live the rest of our lives filled with misery and hate for all the idiots that surround us! We are so much better than everyone in 2010!!!!
Jason Fetters [04-02-2010 09:14]  
Ed - Good to hear from you. I'm sorry that I didn't include G-Fan. I included magazines that I have. I did find a flea market stall in Tampa that carries tons of magazines so I will look for G-Fan.
Terence [04-02-2010 08:52] 
"and you wonder why the site is dying."

um no i actually wonder what wound of yours isn't healing? is it the whole Drew Rieber Rocky thing? i suggest some ointment.
Happy Young Man [04-02-2010 06:35] 
"So yeah...I do think people who consume that stuff have bad taste...Because all they want is a few hours of escapism...They dont really care much deeper then that" ... thanx for also proving my point.
ED [04-02-2010 05:52] 
Jason - I never realized there were that many Japanese magazines. The only one of those I have ever heard of was Giant Robot. You omitted my favorite one though, G-Fan, or is that not considered a Japanese magazine? I really enjoyed that one for a number of years until the Godzilla franchise fizzled out and their articles got increasingly esoteric and redundant.

Chris - you HAVE to see Death Dream. Even if it wasn't a great creepy flick, it was filmed in Brookesville!
Petrey [04-02-2010 02:58] 
"Don't Be a Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood" was one long title but hilarious. When "Boyz N The Hood" came out the 'cultural elite' decided to destroy most of the theatre that a fellow manager was working at. She locked her and her staff in to the office until the Police arrived. Ahh, memories.
Petrey [04-02-2010 02:37] 
You're welcome Steve and thanks for letting me know you received it. Sorry it took so long.
The Beaz [04-02-2010 01:00] 
There's been 10 Hip-Hop movies? Damn, who'da thunk it?
Jason Fetters [04-02-2010 00:03]  
sorry should read "dirtiest video store in Japan."
Jason Fetters [04-02-2010 00:03]  
Chris - Great review, you should follow up Laserblast with Enzo Castellari's Light Blast (1985) starring the barely tolerable Erik Estrada. Hard to find on VHS. I found my copy at the dirtiest videotape in Japan.
Steve Beasley [03-02-2010 21:07] 
Hey Petrey!

The "Good Bye Lenin" DVD just arrived in the mail! I'll watch it this evening....THANKS!
Jon Lovitz [03-02-2010 20:34] 
Surely "High School High" is on everybody's list of Top Ten Hip-Hop Movies.
Chris Woods [03-02-2010 20:29] 
New Schlock Review posted: LASERBLAST
Chris Woods [03-02-2010 20:28] 
ED - I enjoyed your interview with Seth Sklarey. I really enjoyed Children and other Bob Clark horror films. I still have to check out Deathdream. I heard good things about it for years.
J.MILLER [03-02-2010 19:17] 
Paul - If your going to call people names then speak directly...You're painting with an awfully big brush...

We've been over this before...

Your confusing consumerism with being a fan...Theres a big difference...

Some entertainment products are as disposable as an empty skittles wrapper...I don't understand why that is such a hard concept to put your mind around...So yeah...I do think people who consume that stuff have bad taste...Because all they want is a few hours of escapism...They dont really care much deeper then that

Ive already spent enough money watching movies I knew were gonna suck before I went and saw it...How many more times am I supposed to fall for that trick?

Happy Young Man [03-02-2010 19:17] 
Thanx for provin my point Tez... and you wonder why the site is dying.
Terence [03-02-2010 14:26] 
you know what I have an idea Paul. why dont you go to a movie and be secure in the fact that you enjoy it and not worry about what we think about the film? simple right? thats what I do. i could care less what anywhere he thinks about my feelings on a film. its interesting to hear what they think about it but it doesnt keep me up at night. and you know what? some movies do suck flat out. i dont buy into that theory that film is subjective. thats a cop out for people who dont analyze things and dont want their opinion and thoughts challenged. but film isnt like music. film is subjective.
Terence [03-02-2010 14:05] 
there is a difference between mainstream and popular films and music that are good and ones that are bad. if its good we all praise it. if its bad we dont. that goes for mainstream and art film alike. what site have you been reading? I proclaim my love for Lord of the Rings all the time. it was popular and mainstream. and I bash Tarantino every chance I get and he is arthouse. i the first one to say Eyes Wide Shut sucked. and I love Kubrick. you have no clue what you are talking about.
Happy Young Man [03-02-2010 12:40] 
I won't buy that album, but unlike people on this site I will not say the popularity is a sign that the world sucks or that the masses are now mindless drones... I will not buy it because it is not my thing and I will not review it because I will not have heard it. See, that is the difference between me and most on this board, I don't look down on others for their tastes... I accept we all like different things. You are snobs. Accept it.
Major Major [03-02-2010 11:35] 
"The Hurt Locker" was pretty good. I didn't realize it came out last year.

Anybody here like British political comedies? I suggest you find a copy of "In the Loop." Where else can you see a high-ranking general played James Gandolfini?
J.MILLER [03-02-2010 10:36] 
Paul - Stop acting like a Nazi...Nobody is saying Avatar is a bad movie or that people who like it are stupid...Besides Nolan (who didnt bash it) who else has written negatively about the movie? Ed, Mike? Will? Me?..

Lots of things make money that doesn't make them good or worth spending money on...Are you going to buy Lil Waynes album this week? Its going to sell seven trillion copies so if you dont like it you must be a bitter old nerd who secretly likes everything but pretends to hate it so that you can look cool...

Happy Young Man [03-02-2010 09:59] 
Avatar is still making cash ... if only the entire world knew they were dumb and everyone on this website was smart.
ED [03-02-2010 07:35] 
I am waiting for A Black Christmas Story where an adult Ralphie finally gets that 9mm full auto Uzi with the laser sighting and the tactical light he has always wanted. Then Flick, Scwartz, and Scut Farkus are going to pay!
Michael [03-02-2010 05:38] 
T, don't forget "Rhinestone." Seriously. And "A Christmas Story." Have you ever seen the documentary on Bob Clark? They showed it last year in Cleveland during the 25th Anniversary of "A Christmas Story" celebration.
Simon Lynx [03-02-2010 04:27] 
R.I.P. ECW..... even though it was killed a long time ago!
Terence [02-02-2010 20:28] 
Deathdream and Black Christmas are Clark's best films.
Michael [02-02-2010 19:02] 
How 'bout those Oscar noms? Instead of having one recognizeable film and four no one has seen they went four for ten. The idea of expanding the Best Picture race was to give recognition to great films that made the mistake of making money (Star Trek comes to mind). I am happy to say that I went 24 for 25 on the other categories.
ED [02-02-2010 17:20] 
Ter - that is cool. I can't wait to read it. I have an interview with Alan Ormsby on tape but I have never found the time to transcribe it. I revisted Deranged and Death Dream at the same time as Children and was really impressed with the trio. The films are different in their own ways but all three are very atmospheric.
Terence [02-02-2010 16:58] 
awesome two parter about "Children Shouldnt Play..." it always is in any top 5 horror film lists i make. Ironically i have a Bob Clark article in the works for sometime in the future myself.
ED [02-02-2010 08:26] 
First again?
[31-12-1969 16:00] 
End of Comments    

Please consider making a donation to help support Crazed Fanboy! Click on the "donate" link below and give whatever you can. I sincerely thank you for any and all consideration.---Nolan
"Mike's Rant" is ©2010 by Michael A. Smith     "This Week's Movie Review" is ©2010 by Michael A. Smith     "The Audio Philes" is ©2010 by Terence Nuzum     "La Floridiana" is ©2010 by William Moriaty    "FANGRRL" is ©2010 by Lisa Scherer    "Retrorama" is ©2010 by ED Tucker    "Growing Up Fanboy" is ©2010 by Chris Woods    "Sports Talk" is ©2010 by Chris Munger     "The Asian Aperture" is ©2010 by Jason Fetters     "Lampin' @ the 6th Borough" is ©2010 by John Miller      All contents of Nolan's Pop Culture Review are ©2010 by Nolan B. Canova    
Crazed Fanboy dotcom is owned and operated by its founder, Nolan B. Canova

Crazed Fanboy.com is a Tampa-based fan outlet for many creative endeavors, including, but not limited to, independent film, video, music, original artwork, and media commentary.

To send me anything like books, posters, VHS tapes, CDs, or DVDs for review or to simply correspond non-electronically through regular mail, please send all relevant material to:

CRAZED FANBOY
P.O. Box 13991
Tampa, FL 33681-3991

Search:
Keywords:
In Association with Amazon.com

Otherwise, if you have any questions, email me at nolan@crazedfanboy.com.
I appreciate your support.
Sincerely,
Nolan B. Canova


Crazed Fanboy® is based in Tampa, Florida. Webpage design and all original graphics herein are creations of, and copyrighted by, Nolan B. Canova ©2010.


Back to Top